YA Scavenger Hunt 2017

YA_ScavengerHunt_ColourLogo_CMYK-01.jpg

Welcome to YA Scavenger Hunt! This bi-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors…and a chance to win some awesome prizes! At this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each author, you also get a clue for the hunt. Add up the clues, and you can enter for our prize–one lucky winner will receive one book from each author on the hunt in my team! But play fast: this contest (and all the exclusive bonus material) will only be online for 72 hours!

Gold Team Spring 2017

Go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page to find out all about the hunt. There are SIX contests going on simultaneously, and you can enter one or all! I am a part of the GOLD TEAM–but there is also a red team, a gold team, an orange team, a red team, and an indie team for a chance to win a whole different set of books!

If you’d like to find out more about the hunt, see links to all the authors participating, and see the full list of prizes up for grabs, go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page.

SCAVENGER HUNT PUZZLE
 
Directions: Below, you’ll notice that I’ve listed my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the GOLD TEAM, and then add them up (don’t worry, you can use a calculator!).
 
Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.
Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by APRIL 9th, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.
AMY MCNULTY!
Amy McNulty Author Pic.jpg
Today, I am hosting  AMY MCNULTY  on my website for the YA Scavenger Hunt!
Amy McNulty is a freelance writer and editor from Wisconsin with an honors degree in English. She was first published in a national scholarly journal (The Concord Review) while in high school and currently writes professionally about everything from business marketing to anime. In her down time, you can find her crafting stories with dastardly villains and antiheroes set in fantastical medieval settings.
Amy’s newest book is BALLAD OF THE BEANSTALK.  A YA Romantic fairy tale.  I love a good retelling!
 
Find out more information about BALLAD OF THE BEANSTALK by checking out Amy’s author website or find more about her book Ballad of the Beanstalk here (it’s only .99 until April 18!)  Or check the book out over at Goodreads!    You can also find her on the inter webs at Watpad /  Twitter / Instagram / Facebook

EXCLUSIVE CONTENT

Ballad of the Beanstalk_3D Cover 2.jpg

Here’s a little about the book:  As her fingers move across the strings of her family’s heirloom harp, sixteen-year-old Clarion can forget. She doesn’t dwell on the recent passing of her beloved father or the fact that her mother has just sold everything they owned, including that very same instrument that gives Clarion life. She doesn’t think about how her friends treat her like a feeble, brittle thing to be protected. She doesn’t worry about how to tell the elegant Elena, her best friend and first love, that she doesn’t want to be her sweetheart anymore. She becomes the melody and loses herself in the song.

When Mack, a lord’s dashing young son, rides into town so his father and Elena’s can arrange a marriage between the two youth, Clarion finds herself falling in love with a boy for the first time. Drawn to Clarion’s music, Mack puts Clarion and Elena’s relationship to the test, but he soon vanishes by climbing up a giant beanstalk that only Clarion has seen. When even the town witch won’t help, Clarion is determined to rescue Mack herself and prove once and for all that she doesn’t need protecting. But while she fancied herself a savior, she couldn’t have imagined the enormous world of danger that awaits her in the kingdom of the clouds.

A prequel to the fairy tale Jack and the Beanstalk that reveals the true story behind the magical singing harp.

 

I always love how an author gets inspired. Amy shares her PINTEREST INSPIRATION BOARD with us.  Look how pretty!

File Apr 04, 10 01 16

 

Thanks, Amy! For sharing a sneak peek of your process with us!

And don’t forget to enter the contest for a chance to win a ton of books by me, CECIL CASTELLUCCI, and more! To enter, you need to know that my favorite number is 39. Add up all the favorite numbers of the authors on the GOLD TEAM and you’ll have all the secret code to enter for the grand prize!
As an extra bonus, I will be doing an extra giveaway of SOUPY LEAVES HOME (or any of one of my other books, stock depending).  Three winners!  Since Soupy is about train hopping, just leave a comment with your fave train voyage story.  Winners will be picked at random.
CONTINUE THE HUNT
 
To keep going on your quest for the hunt, you need to check out the next author! DAVID MELLON
 
 
34 thoughts on “ YA Scavenger Hunt 2017

  1. I haven’t read any of the train books but I would love the opportunity to start reading them! Thanks for the chance and thanks for being part of the hunt!

  2. Hunger Games series…So there aren’t very many train parts in them but the moments I think are pretty significant and we get to really know the characters more.

  3. The only book with trains that comes to my mind is 4.50 from Paddington by Agatha Christie, which is really amazing! (if the contest isn’t open internationally, you don’t have to count this as an entry :))

  4. only book I can think of is Girl on the Train. I enjoyed the book and am excited to watch the movie

  5. Since I haven’t read any story with trains (well, apart from small scenes like in Divergent) I have gone with something that happened to me. I travelled by train through eastern Europe together with a friend almost 10 years ago. First time for the both of us and without parents. While on our way to Ljubljana we come across an American man, probably in his forties. He asks us where we are from and when we tell him that we are Dutch he asks us if we can swim because most of the Netherlands is bellow sea level. At first we thought he was joking but turns out he was 100% serious!

  6. There’s one story that immidiately comes to mind; ‘Joe en ik’. It’s a Dutch book that completely wrecked my heart. The story is about a boy who’s rather is diagnosed with an advanced form of cancer. He doesn’t have long to live. To make the most of the time they have left they go on a roadtrip by train. It’s a really beautiful book.

  7. My favorite train voyage story is a recent one, Railhead by Phillip Reeve. It’s YA Science Fiction and it’s about interstellar trains. It’s fantastic!!! I can’t wait to see where this new series goes!

  8. I haven’t read any books currently that I can recall that featured a train, though there are some on my TBR. I guess I’ll say my favorite is The Little Engine that Could. You can’t beat a classic. Thanks so much for participating in YASH this year. It is always so much fun!

  9. I’ve only taken the train once in my life and it wasn’t that eventful but the scenery was really beautiful.

  10. It’s a silly thing, but I think my favourite train journey is an episode of Doctor Who, Murder on the Orient Express, with Peter Capaldi as the Doctor. SO GOOD!

  11. When we were kids, my brother was obsessed with Thomas the Tank Engine so we watched it all the time and had all the toys and stuff. I play it for my toddler daughter all the time, hoping she’ll love it as much as we did. She even has a Thomas the Tank Engine walk-behind train!

  12. I enjoyed the train journeys in Harry Potter. But your book which has train hopping reminds me of divergent.

  13. My fave train voyage story… Hm… Probably Railhead by Philip Reeve. Trains are there very magical, though. 🙂

  14. Train voyage… I’m sure you meant for a bookish one, but the only one I can think of right now because it’s always on my mind is the Korean zombie movie called Train to Busan. It was just AMAZING! I have seen it, like, twice this month already! Lol

  15. Enrique’s Journey was SO riveting and moving and such great reading material. Loved it. Thanks for doing a bonus giveaway!

  16. There was a pretty exciting train voyage in Waistcoats & Weaponry. And I love the Hogwarts express in Harry Potter.

  17. Hogwarts Expressssssssss I want to board it!! But I recently read a TBP manuscript as a line editor that features and INCREDIBLE train scene… which is one of my favorite action train sequences I’ve read in a book!

Leave a Reply

