YA Scavenger Hunt – Meet Megan Shepard

YA Scavenger Hunt! It’s on!
image This bi-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonusmaterial from their favorite authors…and a chance to win some prizes! During this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each author, you also get a clue for the hunt. Add up the clues, and you can enter for our prize–one lucky winner will receive one signed book from each author on the hunt in my team!  I am on TEAM GOLD

Just look at who is on my crazy cool team!  WOWZA!  Today, I am delighted to be hosting Megan Shepherd on my website for the YA Scavenger Hunt! I really loved her book The Madman’s Daughter and am looking forward to her new series!

Team Gold (2) copy

How do I play?  Go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page.

Directions: Below, you’ll notice that I’ve listed my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the GOLD TEAM, and then add them up (don’t worry, you can use a calculator!).  Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.

There are SIX contests going on simultaneously, and you can enter one or all! I am a part of the GOLD TEAM–but there is also a green team, a blue team, a pink team, an orange team, a red team, a teal team, and a purple team for a chance to win a whole different set of signed books!

This contest is open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by APRIL 5TH, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.

Meet MEGAN SHEPHERD
MSH52WEBsized
Today, I am delighted to be hosting Megan Shepherd .
Megan Shepherd is the author of The Madman’s Daughter trilogy, an ABA Best Book for Children and the NC Young Adult Book Award winner, and The Cage trilogy (coming May 2015). She lives on a farm outside of Asheville, NC.  You can find out more about Megan here and you can pre-order her new book The Cage now.
EXCLUSIVE CONTENT
 -1
In this gripping new series teens are held captive in a human zoo by an otherworldly race. They realize that their captivity is more terrifying than they could ever imagine: Their captors aren’t from Earth. And they have taken the five teenagers for an otherworldly zoo—where the exhibits are humans.

Exclusive Content!

Behold!  THE CAGE official playlist

Hi all, Megan here. I wanted to share with you some of the music that inspired me to write THE CAGE, my new YA sci-fi series coming this summer. These songs capture feelings the characters in THE CAGE go through, like being far from home, and the fear of being trapped, and falling in love with the wrong person.

MY BODY IS A CAGE, Arcade Fire

E.T., Katy Perry

BONES, MS MR

CASUAL AFFAIR, Panic! At the Disco

COUNTING STARS, Sugarcult

TESSELLATE, Alt-J

IN A CAGE, Black Belles

METAL HEART, Cat Power

I hope you enjoy listening to them as much as I do! Thanks to my friends Jeremy and Jason for introducing me to many of the tracks.

And don’t forget to enter the contest for a chance to win a ton of signed books by me, Megan Shepherd, and all of TEAM GOLD!  To enter, you need to know that my favorite number is 39. Add up all the favorite numbers of the authors on the Gold Team and you’ll have all the secret code to enter for the grand prize!

CONTINUE THE HUNT
 
To keep going on your quest for the hunt, you need to check out the next author! MAUREEN MCGOWAN
And as a treat.  If you leave a comment here, I’ll raffle off a paperback of my book TIN STAR to get you started on the adventure of Tula Bane and the Tin Star duet. a Rafflecopter giveaway
  

76 thoughts on “YA Scavenger Hunt – Meet Megan Shepard

  1. thank you a lot for taking part in this Hunt and for doing a additional giveaway ( i hope it’s international) i would love to discover their adventures

    my favourite kind of aliens, those from the gini koch book and more specially the poofs ( little cute furball who get bigger and ferocious to defend their owner)

  2. Thank you so much for incorporating another giveaway into this already huge one!!

    My favorite alien eh? Is it safe to say Daemon Black from Jennifer Armentrout’s Lux series? Because he’s beautiful.

  3. Thank you for taking part in the Scavenger Hunt and for offering this giveaway!

    My favorite kind of aliens are the “it’s-so-cute-I-just-want-to-cuddle-it” kind; like the little alien dudes from Toy Story or Stitch from Lilo & Stitch. The kind that will not hunt you down stealthily and then eat you lol.

  4. (hoping its international!) And my favourite kind of alien is oh my goodness this is hard! Maybe the alien race, Draenei from World Of Warcraft as they are badass and beautiful and I would want to be one🙂

  5. My favorite aliens would be the ones from Bradbury’s short stories, or The Martian Chronicles. Even before I read/watched sci-fi, those were the ones that held me captivated.

  6. I don’t know many “kinds” of aliens… I guess I like aliens who look human and aren’t evil!

  7. I don’t really have a favourite type of alien but DID have an affinity for drawing what I called “alien doors” when I was younger. From what I remember they had eyes and a nose but that was about it in terms of normal features.

  8. Favorite Alien? E.T- DEFINITELY! Or the one from Star Trek, with the big black (hollowish) eyes. Ugh. I can’t remember his name!

    Thanks for the opportunity!;)

  9. My favorite kind alien would be Daemon Black from the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

  10. I think something cute and cuddling like Gizmo or even something like Grrrr from Invader Zim!

  11. I agree with aliens from the Lux series and also from the Roswell tv series. I would pretty much be okay with any, as long as they weren’t bent on our destruction or saw us as a food source.

  12. I like new takes on aliens. I enjoyed The Host. The idea that you never know what exactly you are up against or friends with adds a level of suspense.

  13. Hmm… Well, I like the aliens from Avatar (the blue creature one, not the horrible adaption of the TV show), and the aliens from the YA series I Am Number Four.

  14. Thank you for taking part of YA Scavenger Hunt and the additional giveaway!

    My favorite kind of alien would be Daemon Black from The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout! SERIOUSLY who wouldn’t resist a hot, witty, book boyfriend quality alien🙂

  15. I’d have to say my favorite kind of alien would be the ones from the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

  16. My favorite alien?? Well, Daemon from Lux is hoooott! But I also really like Ewoks. They’re aliens to me, so that’s what I’m going with!

  17. My favorite kind of aliens are the kind you don’t even realize are different (from humans) until the book progresses. Then you start to see clues that maybe they are not from this world. Ones that keep you guessing and wondering are the best! Thanks for taking part in this scavenger hunt. I look forward to them every year!!!

  18. Fave types of alien? First thing that comes into my mind – Obsidian, Alienated and The Fifth Wave🙂

  19. Let me know what your favorite kind of alien is! My favorite kind of aliens are the cute and friendly kind like E.T., the LGMs from Toy Story and Robin Williams on Mork and Mindy.

  20. Thanks so much for participating in the YASH and for hosting your own giveaway!🙂
    I don’t have a really have a preference for aliens, but if I had to choose, I would pick a kind and friendly alien without green skin.❤

  21. I’m definitely partial to the human looking hot boy aliens, but also cute and friendly aliens like Oh from Home, Alf or the Purple People Eater!😀

    Thanks for taking part in YASH and for the giveaway!

  22. My favorite kind of aliens would be the ones that look like Max Evans on Roswell or the ones like Daemon Black on Jennifer L. Armentrout’s series😛

    Thanks again for the giveaway!

  23. My favorite aliens would be the ones from Guardians of the Galaxy xD Thanks for the giveaway!

  24. Fav. alien would be Gamora from Guardians of the Galaxy; She can sure kick butt🙂

  25. Depends… Like in real life I want a ET kind of alien. But in books and stuff a double face kind of alien, make for better twist in the story xD

  26. Well…since people have already stolen my go to’s with the Roswell and Lux series….I’m going to go with Evan Walker from The 5th Wave. He was a pretty great “alien”.

  27. My favourite alien would be any alien that doesn’t harm us and betters the human race haha

  28. I liked the aliens in Scooby-Doo Alien Invaders!🙂 Thanks for doing the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

