literary fests, bashes, book drops and writing retreat

These past few weeks there has been one literary thing after another!  Which I love!

First off there was the ReaderGirlz Teen Book Drop.  I dropped a few YA novels including my own First Day on Earth at the wee library in my neighborhood.  Look how tiny and cute it is.   Adorable.  It’s near a High School, so I think that those books will find great readers.

IMG_8874

Then it was my favorite book festival of all time:  The Los Angeles Festival of Books!

I hung out mostly at the YA Stage where I moderated two panels and was on one panel.

First up was  a panel on the fantastic, with Gennifer Albin, Mark Frost and Cornelia Funke.

IMG_8887

Then I moderated a panel on Middle Grade with Stuart Gibbs, Psudeonymous Bosch and Blue Balliett.  It was kind of an amazing panel.

IMG_8897

Then Aaron Hartzler, my co moderator at the YA Stage, moderated a graphic novel panel with me, Hope Larson and Ron Koertge.

That night was the LAPL Book Bash at the LAPL Central Library.  This year I was a honorary hostess which made me feel very fancy.

They had a photo booth!  Here I with my fellow PEN Emerging Voices Mentors Ramona Ausubel and Ben Loory!  We just saw our mentees do their readings at the Hotel Cafe this Sunday and they were swell.

12035_mvsstudio

Then it was World Book Night!  So I sat at Intelligentsia Cafe and I handed out Willa Cather’s My Antonia.  The weird thing is that people are so surprised that the book is free. They mostly thought that I was hocking my own self published novel. Yeah. I wish I wrote My Antonia!

IMG_8912

Then this past weekend a bunch of writer pals and I went to a secret cabin in the woods and we workshopped some short stories and first chapters based on the Milford Workshop rules.  It was magical.

Here I am.  The smallest of the bunch.

IMG_9013

 

Leave a Reply

