Grandma’s Gloves and California Book Award Round Up

It may be a little after the fact, (I’m slow to blog these days) but since I just got word that I won the Children’s Literature Council of Southern California’s “Best Narrative Voice in a Picture Book” for Grandma’s Gloves, I thought I’d post a little about the California Book Awards where I won the gold medal for the same book!

The awards took place in San Francisco on June 2nd and it started off with a visit to two of my gal pals Abigail Ulman and Kimetha Vanderveen who I know from the Macdowell Colony. Kimetha is an amazing visual artist (buy her art!) and she’s participating in my Literary Diaspora. You are following my Literary Diaspora, right? My first conceptual art piece that combines visual artists, fabulous authors, postcards in those authors books, micro texts and the US Mail! Fantastico!

The awards took place at the Commonwealth Club. Mark Twain was our host.

I won for Juvenile and Dana Reinhardt won for Young Adult for her book The Things A Brother Knows.

I asked Dana to take a pic of me when I gave my speech. I don’t think anyone saw my face. Next time I have to give an acceptance speech, I’m going to ask for an apple box to stand on.

I am so glad to be a California lady, so the award means a lot to me. Behold, My beautiful plaque!

If you want to watch the ceremony, here is a video.

Leave a Reply

