stories in strange places

emily at skylight books wrote a holiday short story using a play list and challenges you to do it, too.

here is my small narrative / musical offering.

My night out
by cecil castellucci

One fine day (david byrne and brian eno)

What I’m looking for (brendan benson)

Good Clean Fun (cat power)

Hanging on the Telephone (blondie)

Christine (siouxsie and the banshees)

Having a party  (sam cooke)

Dance, dance, dance (lykke li)

My only friend (magnetic fields)

Something’s Wrong  (sloan)

Renee is Crying (luna)

Explain it to me (liz phair)

No way (adolescents)

BMFA -Bloody Mother Fucking Asshole (martha wainwright)

Hush Now (catherine feeny)

So Sorry (feist)

Should I stay or should I go?  (the clash)

Put on a happy face (bye bye birdie)

Sister I need wine (guided by voices)

Let’s go  (the cars)

All I care about (chicago)

You and me  (tiger trap)

In the city (the jam)

Best friend (roy orbison)

Walking and falling (laurie Anderson)

This Conversation (the submarines)

Between the Bars (elliott smith)

Look Up (stars)

Stars (lisa germano)

Life on Mars? (david bowie)

Our Life is Not a Movie or Maybe    (okkervil river)

The Sweet Escape (gwen stefani)

At the Movies (Bad Brains)

Science Fiction / Double Feature (me first and the gimme gimmes)

All night long (lionel ritchie)

You have a friend in me (randy newman)

Speaking of cool alternative story telling fun, I know you’ve heard about the  tumbarumba .  I downloaded it as soon as Gwenda mentioned it and then, nothing.

Until yesterday!  hurrah! I finally caught one!

I was delighted to read the story Painting the Air by  James Patrick Kelly.   I hope I stumble across more!

Leave a Reply

