A Literary Diaspora

A few weeks ago I begun a conceptual art piece that I am calling a Literary Diaspora. It is going to be a year long affair and I invite you to follow along.  I am interested in playing a narrative game with artists, authors and readers.  The first step is sending out blank art postcards to visual artists.  Each post card has a word or phrase on it.  I am inviting the artist to be inspired by the word/phrase and create a piece of art.  Part two is when I have gotten some back I will print ten postcards of each of the images received.  I will send one of the postcards to a published author friend and ask them to write a micro story, or poem, or fanciful philosophy inspired by the image.  The other nine I will scatter pressing the postcard within the pages of that authors books.  It is my hope that an unsuspecting reader / fan of that author will then also send me back a micro story, or poem, or fanciful philosophy inspired by the image.  This is all for fun.  Think of it as my take on the surrealist exquisite corpse game.

 

Please follow along, won’t you?  LITERARY DIASPORA

photo of first batch of postcards sent to artists.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

  • Goodreads

  • Credits

    Get a free blog at WordPress.com The Fjords04 Theme

  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 6,323 other followers

