Where’d you get that idea?

So many times when I go speak to writers at conferences and workshops or when I do school visits, people ask me, “Where do you get your ideas?” I have a million places where I get my ideas. But the idea for my first novel Boy Proof came from working a totally odd job. I was working for my friend Phil’s Production Transcripts company doing as a Time Coder.

At first, I thought it was a miserable job. But in the end, even the dreary can be inspiring.

Before I was writing full-time, as I try to manage to do now, I made sure to clear as many weeks as possible to write. I always tried to make it a point to live by my motto: “All Art All the Time.” This meant I took a lot of temp jobs — something that I could do for a set period of time, pay my rent, buy some groceries and then take a few weeks off to write some more.

You can read the rest of it over at aol as part of their funny series My Spectacular Odd Job.

2 Comments»

  ProductionT wrote @

Great post. Inspiring in a way. :) So do you still do production transcripts?

  castellucci wrote @

no.


Leave a Reply

  • Goodreads

  • Credits

    Get a free blog at WordPress.com The Fjords04 Theme

  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 6,096 other followers

